Preparing Boys for Life

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

What we believe

We believe that creating healing, connection, and friendship across lines of difference makes a stronger community.

The pre-kindergarten-12 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Program empowers our community with stress reduction strategies, spaces for practicing the navigation of difference and sameness, and the freedom to make mistakes. It includes direct training for faculty, staff, and parents; school-based student leadership development; and ongoing practice with regional and national partners. 

Rhonda Brown
Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Diversity Alliance Executive Team, 2020-21

What we're doing

Your Sphere of Influence: Danielle Coke

"While fighting racism will be a long and difficult journey because of how engrained it is in many aspects of society, there are so many steps you can take in the short-term to contribute to change." - Danielle Coke

School-Based Overt vs. Covert Racism

 

Becoming Anti-Racist

antiracist

 

Anti-racist awareness and action is a continual process of becoming. It is fundamentally iterative.

Resources

Our Team

Rhonda Brown

Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
rbrown@haverford.org

Kerry Kettering-Goens

Middle School DEI Coordinator
kgoens@haverford.org

Ryan Meyer

Middle School DEI Coordinator
rmeyer@haverford.org

Maureen Finlan

Lower School DEI Coordinator
mfinlan@haverford.org

Susana Lambour-Smotkin 

Faculty SEED Coordinator
slambour@haverford.org

Sara Barton & Cheryl Joloza

Family SEED Coordinators 
sbarton@haverford.org
cjoloza@haverford.org

Donta Evans

Director of Community Relations 
devans@haverford.org

@InclusiveTHS on Twitter

    News and Progress

    Messages from Haverford Leadership

    Head of School: Practicing Respect, Honesty, and Courage (June 1, 2020)

    Head of School: Continuing the Work (June 18, 2020) 

    Head of School: Update on Continuing the Work (July 23, 2020) 

    Board of Trustees: Continuing the work on DEI initiatives (Sept. 29, 2020)