Preparing Boys for Life.

Varsity Water Polo

Upcoming Schedule

Loyola Blakefield HS, Philmore Cup Tournament
Mount St. Joseph's High School, Philmore Cup Tournament

Scores & Results

Team Information

Team Information:

2017 Water Polo Schedule

2017 Letter from Coach


The Haverford School Head Coach Varsity Water Polo Van Such

Kevin Van Such, Head Coach

Kevin Van Such is in his 10th year at Haverford. He is the Head Coach of the water polo team and serves as Assistant Coach for the swimming program. Outside of Haverford, Kevin serves as Club Director for Maverick Water Polo. He also coaches at Lower Merion Aquatic Club. Kevin grew up in Wilmington, Delaware. He studied Communications at Millersville University where he played water polo in his four years.

The Haverford School Varsity Water Polo Hansen

Sean Hansen, Program Director/Associate Head Coach

Sean Hansen is in his 18th year as Head Swimming Coach and Aquatics Director at The Haverford School. His program has produced more than 20 All-America swimmers. Hansen was the Head Water Polo Coach from 2006-2009, winning two Inter-Ac Championships in that span (2008 and 2009).

Hansen, a native of Havertown, attended Haverford High School (Class of ’96) and was a member of the varsity swimming and diving team for four years. A PIAA state qualifier in 1995 and 1996, he was a captain of the Fords' Central League Championship team in 1996. Hansen continued his swimming career at Lafayette College, where he was a 4-time Patriot League Champion in the 100- and 200-yard Breaststroke, a 4-time member of the All-Patriot League, a member of the All-Decade Patriot League Team, and former Record Holder in the 400 IM. Hansen graduated from Lafayette College in 2000 with a bachelors degree in Psychology.

A Brief History:

The Haverford School Water Polo program began in 2002, when it officially entered a Varsity and Junior Varsity program into the Inter-Academic League. The team struggled in its first few years of existence, but through hard work, determination, skill, and perseverance, has developed into a perennial league champion contender. The program won the Inter-Ac Championship outright in 2005, and was co-champion in 2008 and 2009.

Important Links:

Haverford Water Polo HUDL

2016 Fords Water Polo Highlights

Team philosophies for the season:
  • Emphasizing good sportsmanship
  • Exuding team spirit: work hard and stay positive
  • Enhancing physical fitness through hard work
  • Emphasizing improvement over winning/losing
  • Develop a sense of respect, cooperation, self-discipline, sportsmanship, and fitness through participation in practices and games
  • Participate in safe, fun, hardworking, diverse, and well-organized practice sessions
  • Represent the Haverford School and its community with respect, honesty, and courage


# Name Class
Rajat Aiyer 2017
Matthew Baumholtz 2018
Nicholas Biddle 2019
Alex Boratto 2018
T.J. Brooks 2018
Caleb Cannon 2020
Jason Chen 2019
Michael Clymer 2018
David Gobora 2020
Ross Harryhill 2017
Eric Hoyt 2019
Matthew LaRocca 2018
Ryan LaRocca 2020
JR Leitz 2019
John-Michael Nelligan 2018
Ryan Niggeman 2019
Antonio Octaviano 2020
Kirk Oliver 2017
David Pomeroy 2019
Charlie Ryan 2017
Jack Sanfilippo 2020
Ryan Sanfilippo 2018
Matej Sekulic 2020
MJ Tricolli 2017
Gaspard Vadot 2018
Chris Williams 2017
Michael Yoh 2019
Powered by Finalsite