Preparing Boys for Life

Seventeen students recognized by the National Merit® Scholarship Program

Seventeen students at The Haverford School have been recognized by the National Merit® Scholarship Program. They are among about 50,000 of 1.5 million entrants, representing some of the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores.

Seven students (pictured) were recognized as National Merit Scholar Semifinalists, among the top 16,000 top scorers in the country. Seniors William Dodds, Jonathan Fielder, Benjamin Fosnocht, Weizhen Gao, Maxim Krieder, Cyril Leahy, and Brian Williams are eligible for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million, which will be awarded in the spring.

Ten students were recognized as Commended Students, for, according to the Program, "exceptional academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the qualifying test." These students are: Gabriel Gowen, Timothy Harkins, George Lanchoney, Baoer Li, Andrew Loughnane, Matthew Schwartz, Samuel Slane, Nathan Tai, Matthew Wang, and Tyler Zimmer.