Preparing Boys for Life

Commencement awards recognize students and faculty for character, sportsmanship, and teaching excellence

Each year the School grants five awards, including the Alumni Association Key Man Award, to members of the graduating class. Here are the 2019 recipients, as presented by Headmaster John Nagl.

The Phi Beta Kappa Association of Philadelphia Award goes to that member of the Graduating Class who excels in his scholastic record and who possesses inherent character and integrity. This year the recipient is: William Elliot Vauclain II.

The second award winner is selected by his classmates. The Frank C. Roberts 3rd Cup goes to that member of the graduating class who has shown true sportsmanship in working and playing squarely, in being a good loser and graceful winner, and in making and keeping friends. This year’s recipient is: Griffin Kai Wada.

The Daniel S. Newhall 2nd Plaque goes to the boy who has the highest scholastic standing in the Graduating Class among the winners of School letters in any branch of sport. I wish to acknowledge Mr. John Newhall, Class of ’51, who is with us today in honor of his uncle, Daniel S. Newhall, Class of 1920, who this prize is in honor of. This year’s recipient is: Nikhil

The next award is The Class of 1996 Rafael Laserna Award for Outstanding Teaching. This award is presented to “the teacher who has a lasting influence on his or her students and inspires them to learn and to excel in the classroom and in life.” This award is awarded by vote of the students, and so it is fitting that Jesse Goldman and Dan Whaley, representing the Signet Society, will present the award. This year's recipient is Mark C. McConnon.

The Frederick C. Peters II Prize, named in honor of a Haverford School Board Chair who exhibited these qualities, honors a member of the graduating class whose leadership has made the School happier for his presence and whose loyal service to Haverford has inspired in his fellow students a more generous vision of good citizenship. This year we have two recipients: Calvin C. Costner and Jesse Aaron Goldman.

Will Sam Turner, the Class of 2018 Key Man, please come forward to present this year’s Alumni Association Key Man Award, an honor which is voted on by faculty, staff, and the Sixth Form? The 2019 Key Man is: Michael Ryan Fairorth.