Preparing Boys for Life

Middle School closing ceremony marks passage to Upper School

The Haverford School hosted its Middle School closing ceremony on June 4. Students, families, and friends heard a performance by the Middle School vocal ensemble The Celebrantes, as well as remarks by Middle School president Colin Harkins.

Four awards were presented at the closing ceremony. The Michael J. Cunningham Award, which is presented to the member of the Middle School who excels in his ability to meet scholastic and athletic challenges and whose bearing combines both self-respect and sensitivity to the feelings and ideas of his fellow students. The Cunningham Award was presented to Dylan Blair and Adam Marshall

The Jack Berrettini ’09 Award was presented to Joseph Kauffman. The Berrettini Award is given to the member of the eighth grade class who best exemplifies the characteristics of Jack Berrettini, a former member of the Class of 2009 who died in 2013. This student demonstrates integrity, kindness, loyalty, and respect for others, building meaningful relationships with both his classmates and his teachers. 

Harvey Pennington and Bryce Ford received The William Denning Shaler Dickson Award. The award is named in memory of Bill Dickson, a longtime Middle School math teacher, coach, and Associate Dean of Student Affairs who died in 2003 after a lengthy battle with cancer. This award is presented annually to a member of the eighth grade class who over the course of his Middle School years has demonstrated his commitment to personal growth on the playing field, in the classroom, on stage, and in his interactions with others.

The Thomas Worth Award was given to Nathan Mirin. The Worth Award is presented to a member of the eighth grade class who recognizes and encourages the best in his fellows, distinguishes himself by the creativity he brings to the Middle School community, and is an eager participant in and enthusiastic supporter of all school efforts and activities.