Preparing Boys for Life

Lower School closing ceremony celebrates student achievements

The Haverford School hosted its Lower School closing ceremony on June 3. The Lower School’s closing ceremony featured remarks by Headmaster John Nagl and Head of Lower School Pam Greenblatt. Fifth grade students received certificates of Lower School completion and were honored as they transition to the Middle School next fall. 

First grader William Linz and second grader Carter Robbins were awarded The Edward I. Haupt Memorial Award, which recognizes improvement in reading in first and second grades. Mrs. Haput was a reading specialist for several area schools, including Haverford, Agnes Irwin, Episcopal Academy, and Baldwin. Her husband’s brother James Haupt ’34 attended Haverford and upon her husband’s death in 2006 created the Edward I. Haupt Memorial Award. 

Cody Luong received The Ben W. Malone ’93 Citizenship Award. The award is presented to the most outstanding citizen of second grade and is named after Ben Malone, who came to Haverford as a member of the Class of 1993 in kindergarten. Ben was taken from the community by a drunk driver in the summer of 1983 after finishing second grade. His warmth and friendship will live on in our hearts forever. His grandfather was Watson “Pat” Malone Jr. ’28. 

The William “Will” A. Corey ’08 Positive Attitude Award was presented to fourth graders Will Stambaugh and Hudson Coulson. The award is given to a student chosen from the upper two grades who best exemplifies the determination which will not permit him to quit, however rough the going may be in his studies, on the playground, or in striving for general improvement. Will Corey died of cancer in May 2000, and was in the Class of 2008. 

The Davis R. Parker Award is presented to a student in fifth grade for outstanding interest and enthusiasm in social studies. Mr. Parker was the fifth headmaster of The Haverford School. The Parker award was presented to Nate Gill

Fifth grader Ben Cross was presented The Haverford Citizenship Award. This award is given to the most outstanding citizen in grade five. 

The Marie Tyler Memorial Award was presented to fifth-grader Jack Ford. The Marie Tyler Memorial Award is given to the most outstanding student in the fifth grade class. To honor Marie Tyler for her lifelong service to Haverford, the faculty created The Marie Tyler Memorial Award in 1963. Mrs. Tyler was a third grade teacher upon her retirement.