Preparing Boys for Life

National Merit Scholarship Program recognizes Upper School boys

Several Haverford School students were recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program, including nine who were named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists.

The semifinalists include Adamya Aggarwal, Fisher Bond, Caleb Cavazos, Elijah Lee, Ruidong Li, Mitav Nayak, Haroon Naz, Jeffrey Yang, and Austin Zhuang. They have moved onto the next round of the competition and are in the running to receive scholarships this spring.

Ten Haverford School boys were named to the commended list, including William Cordray, James Davey, Kevin Deng, Samuel Kohl, Robert Parillo, Ethan Saddler, Bram Schork, Samuel Tryon, Charles Whitmer, and John Zhang. 

The Haverford School boys are among 16,000 candidates to be placed on the semifinalist list, whittled down from more than one million nationwide applicants. The boys represent some of the highest Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) Selection Index scores in Pennsylvania. 

“We are so pleased to celebrate this tremendous accomplishment by so many of our Upper School students,” said Mark Fifer, Head of Upper School. “The boys recognized have contributed greatly to our School, so it is fitting that their intellectual agility and vibrancy is acknowledged by the National Merit Scholarship Program.” 

To be considered for the scholarship, students must complete an application, write an essay, and receive strong scores on their PSAT/NMSQT. Students will be notified if they become a finalist in early 2022, with scholarship winners announced in the spring.